top of page

Released on September 29th 2023. Available on CD, Cassette, Regular LP (Black vinyl) and Limited edition LP (Red vinyl, 300 copies).


Formed in Bergen, Norway back in 2000, DATAROCK made a huge splash across multiple media in different formats. Their music was not only massively embraced by the dance-punk community, but also widely used across multiple platforms.

Their breakthrough single "Computer Camp Love" placed at #88 on Rolling Stone's "100 Best Songs of 2007" – and their debut ended up scoring the 36th Best Album of the Year in the era’s preeminent music bible – NME.


While easily recognized for their coordinated matching tracksuits, Datarock did not rely on a shtick for attention. Instead, as All Music Guide lauds, “Datarock doesn't use humour as a crutch but instead as a coat rack, so to speak, to hang their excellent productions on… they appear capable of spinning virtually any musical idea into gold.”


DATAROCK’s new album Media Consumption Pyramid brings together seven members of the core Datarock "collective" who have all been part of the band at one time or another, but never together at the same time. Convening for a few summer festivals last year, Datarock’s current line-up of seven members now share the stage for the very first time.



01. Armadillo Pt. II

02. Heart Shaped Circle

03. Metaverse

04. Rabbit Hole

05. DiscoBedience

06. Tick Tock

07. Video Store

08. Aeon Flux

09. Digital Life

10. Double Vision (Physical media bonus track)

11. Armadillo Pt. I


"Media Consumption Pyramid is an eclectic collection of tracks dancing to the beat of our insatiable, undiscerning appetite for digital consumption – but it’s also a celebration of the fact that we got the entire original gang to come out to play (both in the studio and on stage) on top of solo careers, PHDs, taking care of kids and being grown-ups”, mastermind and frontman Fredrik Saroea says proudly. “That’s me on guitar and vocals, both Ketil Mosnes & Thomas Larssen on bass, Stig Narve Brunstad & Kjetil Møster on keys, and Øyvind Solheim & Tarjei Strøm on drums and percussion.”


Recorded at YAP HQ in Bergen (Norway) & Toolshed in London, 8 of the 11 new songs were mixed by The Chemical Brothers' five-time Grammy-winning co-producer Steve Dub (New Order, Depeche Mode, Orbital, Primal Scream) in Liverpool, 2 by two-time Grammy-winning producer Mark Rankin (Adele, Harry Styles, Bloc Party, Weezer) in Los Angeles, and 1 by drum & bass legend TeeBee in Bergen (Norway). The album was mastered by legend Mike Marsh (Björk, Massive Attack, Depeche Mode, Calvin Harris) in Exmouth, Devon – and the artwork was provided by the renowned illustrator & designer Christian Bergheim.

Datarock - Media Consumption Pyramid

PriceFrom kr150.00